Regional Prep Mtg - Paraguay


Asunción, Paraguay (23rd February 2017) – Representatives of Seven Caribbean Countries along with the Secretary General of the Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU), Ms. Bernadette Lewis are participating in a Regional Preparatory Meeting (RPM) in anticipation of the United Nations International Telecommunication Union’s (ITU) World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC-17) which will be convened in Buenos Aires, Argentina from 9th to 20th October, 2017.

The ITU’s World Telecommunication Development Conferences seek to set strategies and objectives for the development of information and communication technologies (ICT) and to identify telecommunications issues, projects and programmes to be pursued around the world.

The CTU Secretariat has been engaged over the past months in the development of Caribbean ICT initiatives which have been incorporated in the draft regional initiatives for the Americas. These initiatives are being discussed at this meeting and will be refined for presentation to the WTDC-17 in October.

Representatives of The Bahamas, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago are participating in this RPM which commenced on 22nd February in Asunción, Paraguay. Delegates of the RPM elected Jamaica, represented by Mr. Cecil McCain, Director of Post and Telecommunication of the Ministry of Science, Energy and Technology as one of the three Vice-Chairs for the meeting.

The meeting, which will coordinate the preparations for WTDC-17, will continue to 24th February.

Click below to view or download this press release.

PR 007.17 – Regional Preparatory Meeting, Paraguay


The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) is an inter-governmental organisation dedicated to supporting the development of the Caribbean information and communications technologies (ICT) sector. Its Member States are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, The Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Turks and Caicos and Trinidad and Tobago. Its non-Member States are: American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN), Bureau of Telecommunication and Post (Curacao), Cable & Wireless Business (Jamaica), Dauphin Telecom (Guadeloupe), Digicel (Trinidad) Ltd., Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL), Gauss Research Laboratory, Inmarsat Inc., International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Internet Society (ISOC), International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC), Microsoft (Trinidad and Tobago) Ltd., Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board, and Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT).

For further information, please contact:

Michelle Garcia

Communications Specialist

Caribbean Telecommunications Union



Tel: 1-868-628-0281, ext. 246

Fax: 1-868-622-6523