CTU logo





 Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, (12th April, 2017) – In the wake of the recently concluded ICT Week and Symposium Antigua and Barbuda, the Acting High Commissioner of Nigeria, Mr. Ganiyu A. Adeyemi, paid a courtesy visit to the Secretary General of the Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU), Ms. Bernadette Lewis. Mr. Adeyemi expressed gratitude to the CTU for inviting him to the event and for affording him the opportunity to address the Permanent Secretaries and Technical Officers attending the CTU’s the 34th Executive Council Meeting, one of the Week’s activities.

Mr. Adeyemi stated that he was impressed with the Week’s activities and commended the CTU for taking a leadership position in raising awareness of the information and communication technologies and their potential to transform all sectors and the lives of citizens. He spoke of the positive impact of the ICT revolution on ordinary citizens in Nigeria and encouraged the CTU to continue its work in educating citizens on how to use ICT effectively to overcome the challenges faced by the Caribbean and to drive social and economic development and ultimately improve the quality of life of their citizens.

In closing, the Ag. High Commissioner expressed interest in strengthening ties with the CTU in the area of collaboration on ICT issues. Secretary General Lewis welcomed the offer and pledged her commitment to forging stronger relations between the Caribbean and Nigeria.

Nigeria has diplomatic missions in the CTU’s member States of Cuba, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.


Click below to view or download this press release.

PR 012.17 – Nigeria and CTU Strengthen ties



The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) is an inter-governmental organisation dedicated to supporting the development of the Caribbean information and communications technologies (ICT) sector. Its Member States are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, The Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Turks and Caicos and Trinidad and Tobago. Its non-Member States are: American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN), Bureau of Telecommunication and Post (Curacao), Cable & Wireless Business (Jamaica), Dauphin Telecom (Guadeloupe), Digicel (Trinidad) Ltd., Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL), Gauss Research Laboratory, Inmarsat Inc., International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Internet Society (ISOC), International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC), Microsoft (Trinidad and Tobago) Ltd., Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board, and Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT).

For further information, please contact:


Michelle Garcia

Communications Specialist

Caribbean Telecommunications Union

E-mail: michelle.garcia@ctu.int

Website: http://www.ctu.int/

Tel: 1-868-628-0281, ext. 246

Fax: 1-868-622-6523