L to R: Stephen Spence, Consultant, Arkitechs; Junior Mc Intyre, CTU CARCIP Programme Coordinator; Bernadette Lewis, Secretary General, CTU; Selby Wilson, Telecommunications Strategist, CTU; Mauro Miyake, OCP/SMC Lead Caribbean, Microsoft; Rafael Suarez- Cloud Specialist, Microsoft; and Lisette Hernandez, Territory Channel Manager, Microsoft.
Front row, l-r: Nigel Cassimire, CTU Secretariat; Diana Francis, St. Kitts and Nevis; Hon. Vincent Byron Jr.; St. Kitts and Nevis; Bernadette Lewis, CTU Secretariat; Hon. Melford Nicholas, Antigua and Barbuda; Anthony McMaster, British Virgin Islands. Second row, l-r: Bevil Wooding, ARIN; Michelle Garcia, CTU Secretariat; Roxanne John, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Decima Corea, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Wendy Jap a Joe, Suriname; Amicia Mussenden, St. Kitts and Nevis; Valeenee Wasimin, Suriname; Sonia Culmer, The Bahamas; Darryl Jackson, Antigua and Barbuda; Imi Chitterman, Grenada. Third row, l-r: Trevor Prevatt, CTU Secretariat; Selby Wilson, CTU Secretariat; Stephen Bereaux, The Bahamas; Ophelia Blanchard, St. Kitts and Nevis; Vaughn Hazell, Anguilla; Vance Lewis, British Virgin Islands; Clifford Bostic, Barbados; Jeremy Hodge, British Virgin Islands; Bennette Thomas, Dominica; Williams Ijeh, ITU.
CARCIP - Contract Mgt Workshop_


Castries, Saint Lucia (24th February 2017) – The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) hosted a regional Contract Management Workshop on Public-Private Partnership (PPP) for connectivity infrastructure, funded by the International Development Association of the World Bank, as a component of the Caribbean Regional Communications Infrastructure Program (CARCIP). The workshop was held at the Coco Palm Resort, Castries, Saint Lucia, from 20th to 24th February 2017.

The PPP Contract Management Workshop was a resounding success, and is expected to build the capacity of the Contract Management and Procurement Teams in the CARCIP participating countries of Saint Lucia, Grenada and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, to support the implementation of regional connectivity infrastructure, and to facilitate the transfer of knowledge to local project counterparts and ministry personnel in the participating Member States. Specifically, the key outcomes of the workshop were the building of institutional capacity for effecting PPP contracts and related negotiations, in addition to the managing, monitoring and evaluation of these contracts.

The workshop was opened to a multi-disciplined audience, targeting the relevant implementing Ministries of CARCIP. The general target audience included public officers with finance, legal, telecommunications, information and communications technologies, and procurement backgrounds. CTU Program Coordinator, Junior Mc Intyre, stated, “Strategic focus was also placed on developing capacity among the public officers to facilitate the transfer of the skills developed, to benefit broader knowledge areas of infrastructure development”.

Click below to view or download this press release.

PR 008.17 – Contract Mgt Workshop

The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) is an inter-governmental organisation dedicated to supporting the development of the Caribbean information and communications technologies (ICT) sector. Its Member States are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, The Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Turks and Caicos and Trinidad and Tobago. Its non-Member States are: American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN), Bureau of Telecommunication and Post (Curacao), Cable & Wireless Business (Jamaica), Dauphin Telecom (Guadeloupe), Digicel (Trinidad) Ltd., Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL), Gauss Research Laboratory, Inmarsat Inc., International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Internet Society (ISOC), International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC), Microsoft (Trinidad and Tobago) Ltd., Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board, and Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT).
For further information, please contact: