L to R: Stephen Spence, Consultant, Arkitechs; Junior Mc Intyre, CTU CARCIP Programme Coordinator; Bernadette Lewis, Secretary General, CTU; Selby Wilson, Telecommunications Strategist, CTU; Mauro Miyake, OCP/SMC Lead Caribbean, Microsoft; Rafael Suarez- Cloud Specialist, Microsoft; and Lisette Hernandez, Territory Channel Manager, Microsoft.
Front row, l-r: Nigel Cassimire, CTU Secretariat; Diana Francis, St. Kitts and Nevis; Hon. Vincent Byron Jr.; St. Kitts and Nevis; Bernadette Lewis, CTU Secretariat; Hon. Melford Nicholas, Antigua and Barbuda; Anthony McMaster, British Virgin Islands. Second row, l-r: Bevil Wooding, ARIN; Michelle Garcia, CTU Secretariat; Roxanne John, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Decima Corea, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Wendy Jap a Joe, Suriname; Amicia Mussenden, St. Kitts and Nevis; Valeenee Wasimin, Suriname; Sonia Culmer, The Bahamas; Darryl Jackson, Antigua and Barbuda; Imi Chitterman, Grenada. Third row, l-r: Trevor Prevatt, CTU Secretariat; Selby Wilson, CTU Secretariat; Stephen Bereaux, The Bahamas; Ophelia Blanchard, St. Kitts and Nevis; Vaughn Hazell, Anguilla; Vance Lewis, British Virgin Islands; Clifford Bostic, Barbados; Jeremy Hodge, British Virgin Islands; Bennette Thomas, Dominica; Williams Ijeh, ITU.
ITU Regional Dev Forum


 Asunción, Paraguay (24th February 2017) – The Secretary General of the Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU), Ms. Bernadette Lewis, led a discussion panel addressing the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals  (SDGs) at the International Telecommunications Union’s (ITU) Regional Development Forum on 20th March in Asunción, Paraguay.

In her introductory remarks, the SG noted that in September 2015, the countries of the United Nations (UN) adopted 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in its Transforming our World: 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The Agenda which came into force on 1st January 2016 seeks to   “free the human race from the tyranny of poverty, heal and secure the plane and shift the world on to a sustainable and resilient path”.  The SG explained that the achievement of these goals is a collective responsibility that requires collaboration and honest, dedicated cooperation by all global citizens, including governments, the private sector and civil society.

The discussants in the Panel, Teresita Palacios, President of CONATEL (National Telecommunications Commission), Paraguay; Jorge Torres, Deputy Secretary of COMTELCA (Regional Technical Commission of Telecommunications), Honuduras; Roberto Hirayama,Regulation Specialist, Anatel, Brazil;  and Chiedozie Dickson Osuala, Manager Market Economics, Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT); explored the role of different stakeholders in promoting the SDGs, and how information and communication technologies (ICT) could help in achieving them.

Without exception, the panelists were of the firm view that affordable access to ICT and Broadband were essential for the attainment of the SDGs.  They pointed specifically to the potential of ICT to promote social inclusion and foster economic development but this would require extending networks to all national communities.

SG Lewis in summing up the contributions of the panelists emphasized the need for transdisciplinary collaboration in setting realistic goals, planning and execution of ICT projects. She noted that public awareness and education of all stakeholders were integral to the process.

Finally, demonstrated political will to drive ICT for development and measurement of the progress are mandatory in order for the potential of ICT to contribute to the attainment of the SDGs.

Click below to view or download this press release.

PR 009.17 – ITU Regional Development Forum


The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) is an inter-governmental organisation dedicated to supporting the development of the Caribbean information and communications technologies (ICT) sector. Its Member States are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, The Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Turks and Caicos and Trinidad and Tobago. Its non-Member States are: American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN), Bureau of Telecommunication and Post (Curacao), Cable & Wireless Business (Jamaica), Dauphin Telecom (Guadeloupe), Digicel (Trinidad) Ltd., Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL), Gauss Research Laboratory, Inmarsat Inc., International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Internet Society (ISOC), International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC), Microsoft (Trinidad and Tobago) Ltd., Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board, and Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT).

For further information, please contact:

Michelle Garcia

Communications Specialist

Caribbean Telecommunications Union

E-mail: michelle.garcia@ctu.int

Website: http://www.ctu.int/

Tel: 1-868-628-0281, ext. 246

Fax: 1-868-622-6523