facebook youtube

Notice: Request for Proposal

Download notice

Visit website

About CTU Membership

Foundation Members

The Constitution of the CTU reflects the provisions of the intergovernmental agreement that established the Union in 1989. The foundation members of the Union are: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Commonwealth of the Bahamas, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada,Guyana, Jamaica, Monsterrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago. In the decade after its establishment, Anguilla, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands, Associate States of CARICOM, became associate members.

Expansion of Membership

In recognition of the changing telecommunications environment, the 7th General Conference of Ministers held in Barbados on 17th September 2004 agreed to expand the membership of the union to include non-CARICOM Caribbean countries, member states of the Association of Caribbean States, private sector organisations and civil society organisations.

This expansion reflects the principle of inclusion of all stakeholders in the CTU’s activities, to set policy directions and promote the effective use of ICT in the development of the region

Membership Obligations

Members agree to be bound by and to comply with all the provisions of the CTU Constitution and any terms and conditions stipulated by the General Conference from time to time. In this regard members covenant and undertake to:

  • Comply with the CTU Constitution and with such decisions taken by the General Conference
  • Promote the purposes of the Union as outlined in its objectives
  • Pay annual dues as determined by the General Conference
  • Provide information requested by the Secretariat to promote the interest of the members
  • Participate in accordance with the rights and obligations assigned to each membership ategory, in events organized by the Secretariat for Members’ benefit.

Membership Categories

Membership in the CTU shall be open to any State or Organisation described in the categories hereunder which is able and willing to exercise the rights and assume the obligations of membership of the Union.

The expanded Membership categories of the CTU are as follows.

State Membership

State Membership is open to any State which is a Member or Associate Member of CARICOM.

Associate State Membership

Associate State Membership is open to:

  • Any non-CARICOM State within the Caribbean Region
  • Any Member State of the Association of Caribbean States

Private Sector Membership

Private Sector Membership is open to any company that is involved in the telecommunications sector as providers of:

  • Public telecommunications services, Information and Communication Technologies, Internet Service Providers
  • Electronic media services and broadcasting
  • Technology applications and/or equipment
  • Technical and policy consultancy services for the telecommunications industry

Civil Society Membership

Civil Society Membership is open to:

  • Non-Governmental Organisations
  • Trade or Professional Associations
  • Academic Institutions
  • Regional Telecommunications Organisations
  • Regulatory Agencies



CTU Website Login

State and Associate Members of the CTU, login here to enter the Members' Portal
Remember Me




Caribbean ICT Roadshow Platinum Sponsors