Digital Financial Services Workshop (27-28 April, 2017) From (left to right) – Hon. Darcy W. Boyce, the President of the Caribbean Telecommunications Union, and Senator in the Office of the Prime Minister Energy, Immigration, Telecommunications and Invest Barbados; Cleveland Thomas, ITU Caribbean Representative and the Hon. Melford Nicholas, Minister of Telecommunications, Broadcasting and Information, Antigua and Barbuda.

Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, (29th April, 2017) – “The ITU, UNECLAC, the CTU, the various bankers’ associations, the central bankers, the anti-money laundering regulators, the digital financial Services technology providers, the cyber security experts and the consumer protection officials need to see how we as a region can develop our regional DFS sector,” stated Hon. Darcy W. Boyce, the President of the Caribbean Telecommunications Union, and Senator in the Office of the Prime Minister Energy, Immigration, Telecommunications and Invest Barbados.

Senator Boyce made a call for collaboration during the opening ceremony of the Digital Financial Services (DFS) Workshop, held in Port of Spain, April 27th to 28th 2017.

The CTU President further gave the rationale for providing these services in the region, “Digital financial services, through the attributes of digital financial inclusion have significant potential to provide a range of affordable, convenient and secure banking services to the poor people, small and micro enterprises in the region.”

The Workshop was organised by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), in collaboration with the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT), the Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU), the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, the University of the West Indies St. Augustine Campus (UWI), the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UNECLAC), and Pinaka Technology Solutions.

This workshop follows on the heels of the CTU’s 15th Caribbean Ministerial Strategic ICT Seminar, which was held in Antigua and Barbuda  in March, and had as its theme: ICT Driving 21st Century Financial Services. This Seminar laid a foundation of understanding of the impact information and communication technologies was having on financial services.

The primary purpose and objective of this interactive Workshop was to provide Caribbean stakeholders from various sectors with insight on technological innovations for improving financial transactions and financing arrangements. Specifically, it sought to explore online decentralised systems that allow people to exchange goods and services without using traditional monetary instruments, and to assess whether the adoption of digital currencies as an alternative currency in the Caribbean, can serve the needs of this region.

Speaking during panel discussions, the Hon. Melford Nicholas, Minister of Information, Broadcasting, Telecommunications & Information Technology, Government of Antigua & Barbuda, identified the challenges faced by the region in adopting digital currencies. “The greatest challenge may not be an ICT challenge. The challenge for our Caribbean societies and economies, is how do we get our Caribbean producers to be included in this new digital economy.”

Minister Nicholas took a bottom-up approach in assessing how best the region can transition to DFS.  “We need to focus on the whole issue of trade. Economies are driven by consumer demands and purchases. In order to be included, we need to consider how our consumers operate within the context of global economy.”

The Forum was attended by a wide cross-section of delegates from Caribbean Governments regional and international ICT oganisations, regulators, network operators and innovators.

Click below to view or download this press release.

PR 015.17-Digital Financial Services Workshop


The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) is an inter-governmental organisation dedicated to supporting the development of the Caribbean information and communications technologies (ICT) sector. Its Member States are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, The Cooperative Republic of Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Turks and Caicos and Trinidad and Tobago. Its non-Member States are: American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN), Bureau of Telecommunication and Post (Curacao), Cable & Wireless Business (Jamaica), Dauphin Telecom (Guadeloupe), Digicel (Trinidad) Ltd., Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL), Gauss Research Laboratory, Inmarsat Inc., International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Internet Society (ISOC), International Amateur Radio Union – Region 2 (IARU-R2), Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC), Microsoft (Trinidad and Tobago) Ltd., Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board, and Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago (TATT).

For further information, please contact:


Michelle Garcia

Communications Specialist

Caribbean Telecommunications Union

E-mail: michelle.garcia@ctu.int

Website: http://www.ctu.int/

Tel: 1-868-628-0281, ext. 246

Fax: 1-868-622-6523